System Center Data Protection Manager 2007

Expanding on my System Center technologies, I’ve started to work with SCDPM 2007 SP1.

Before I continue I want to say thanks to Mike Resseler who not only shared how to install DPM, but made it fun and enjoyable to actually use.

Not knowing a whole lot about DPM, I found a good overview here: SCDPM 2007 SP1: How it works…

Now that I had an overview, I went to the source, DPM 2007 SP1: Getting Started, to learn what I needed to prepare myself for…

After reviewing what TechNet had to offer I built out my environment:

DPM 2007: Installation Part I: Prerequisites
DPM 2007: Installation Part II: Application & SP1
DPM 2007: Installation Part III: Patching, patching & patching

I have since pushed out the agent to a number of test servers and configured what I want backed up, how long I want the retention and how often to run the backup(s).

Below is list of SCDPM Resources that I also viewed / used during this process.

Product Overview and Roadmap

DPM Quick Start Guide

All Backed Up  – Jason Buffington

TechNet Virtual Lab: Technical Introduction to DPM 2007

Evaluate SCDPM 2007 today

System Center Data Protection Manager 2007 SP1:
x86 / x64

Next up – SCDPM 2010 Beta…

